Disclosure Details

Officer convictions - 225/15

Dated: 14 Apr 2016

Provision of information held by Northumbria Police made under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (the 'Act') 

Thank you for your e mail dated 2 March 2015 in which you made a request for access to certain information which may be held by Northumbria Police.

As you may be aware the purpose of the Act is to allow a general right of access to information held by a Public Authority (including the Police), subject to certain limitations and exemptions.

You asked: 

I am writing to request information under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

I would like to know the following:

The number of police officers working for the force who have themselves been found guilty of committing a crime in each of the last four complete financial years (i.e. 2010/11, 2011/12, 2012/13 and 2013/14) as well as the number between April 2014 and the end of December 2014.

For each year I would like to know the number of crimes that were committed in the line of duty and the number that were off-duty offences.

For each year I would like a breakdown of the type of offences that were committed along with the frequency of each offence.

I would like to receive the information in electronic format, preferably in an Excel document.

To clarify, I mean officers convicted of a crime. 

By in the line of duty I mean crimes committed while at work.

And for frequency I just mean group the offences together by type, so if two officers were found guilty of fraud the data for that year would just be, Fraud x2.

 

We have now had the opportunity to fully consider your request and I provide a response for your attention.

Following receipt of your request, searches were conducted with the  Professional Standards Department of Northumbria Police. I can confirm that the information you have requested is held by Northumbria Police.

I am able to disclose the located information to you as below attached.

 The information provided has been extracted from a ‘live’ database and may be subject to the addition and deletion of complaints, complainants and subjects after the initial extraction of data used for the purposes of this request.

The number of police officers found guilty of a criminal offence in the financial years 2010/11, 2011/12, 2012/13 and 2013/14 and also for the period 01/04/14 to 31/12/14 are shown on the table below.  As your request was for police officers convicted of a crime, officers issued with fixed penalty notices for non recordable offences such as speeding or drunk and disorderly have not been included in the table. You asked for crimes "committed in the line of duty" this is shown as offences that occurred while the officer was on duty.

In some instances officers charged with misconduct in public office may also have another crime type recorded against them, this means that some officers appear in the table more than once under different offence types.  The data has been broken down by financial year using the date of conviction, in some cases the officer has attended as a "voluntary attender" and accepted a caution so there will not be an arrest date or date of conviction, in these cases the date caution was issued is used in place of the date of conviction.

With the above in mind please see the attached which fully answers your query

Please note that the information provided relates to Police Officers who were employed by Northumbria Police at the time of the incident, at the time of conviction some officers may no longer be serving with the Force.

 

Due to the different methods of recording information across 43 forces, a specific response from one constabulary should not be seen as an indication of what information could be supplied (within cost) by another.  Systems used for recording these figures are not generic, nor are the procedures used locally in capturing the data.  For this reason responses between forces may differ, and should not be used for comparative purposes.

How to complain

If you are unhappy with our decision or do not consider that we have handled your request properly and we are unable to resolve this issue informally, you are entitled to make a formal complaint to us under our complaints procedure.

If you are still unhappy after we have investigated your complaint and reported to you the outcome, you may complain directly to the Information Commissioner’s Office and request that they investigate to ascertain whether we have dealt with your request in accordance with the Act.

Downloads

FOI 225-15