Disclosure Details

Unlawful arrest - 395/16

Dated: 27 Apr 2016

Provision of information held by Northumbria Police made under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (the 'Act')

Thank you for your e mail dated 22  March 2016 in which you made a request for access to certain information which may be held by Northumbria Police. 

As you may be aware the purpose of the Act is to allow a general right of access to information held at the time of a request, by a Public Authority (including the Police), subject to certain limitations and exemptions. 

You asked:

1.       In the last five financial years, how many persons have reported being unlawfully arrested by your force? (i.e. they have made an allegation against your force relating to unlawful arrest).  

2.       In the last five financial years, how many people have been found to have been unlawfully arrested? (i.e. their case was proven). Please provide the reason why the arrest was unlawful. For example: Mistaken identity, etc.

For both (1) and (2) – please provide the figures relating to the year in which the unlawful arrests were reported.

By the last three financial years, I refer to: 2012/13, 2013/14, and 2014/15 - lease break down by year.

3.       How much money has been paid out in compensation claims following an unlawful arrest during the last five financial years?

For (3), please provide the total sum broken down by years. I would like the information relating to the year it was paid out, regardless if the claim was submitted during an earlier year.

If possible, please break down each claim by sum, and the offence that an individual was unlawfully arrested for.

You then confirmed, after we sought clarity, that you were meaning the three year period

 

We have now had the opportunity to fully consider your request and I provide a response for your attention.

Following receipt of your request, searches were conducted with the Legal Department of Northumbria Police. I can confirm that the information you have requested is held by Northumbria Police. 

I am able to disclose the located information to you as follows.

1. Financial Year 01/04/13 - 31/03/14

There were 22 Public Liability unlawful arrest civil claims intimated against the Force within this financial period.

Financial Year 01/04/14 - 31/03/15

There were 43 Public Liability unlawful arrest civil claims intimated against the Force within this financial period.

Financial Year 01/04/15 - 31/03/16

There were 16 Public Liability unlawful arrest civil claims intimated against the Force within this financial period.

2. Financial Year 01/04/13 - 31/03/14

There were 9 Public Liability unlawful arrest civil claims settled within this financial period.

Financial Year 01/04/14 - 31/03/15

There were 8 Public Liability unlawful arrest civil claims settled within this financial period.

Financial Year 01/04/15 - 31/03/16

There were 8 Public Liability unlawful arrest civil claims settled within this financial period.

 

3. Financial Year 01/04/13 - 31/03/14

The total amount of compensation paid in relation to the 9 Public Liability unlawful arrest civil claims that were settled within this financial period was £13,750.

Financial Year 01/04/14 - 31/03/15

The total amount of compensation paid in relation to the 8 Public Liability unlawful arrest civil claims that were settled within this financial period was £28,500.

Financial Year 01/04/15 - 31/03/16

The total amount of compensation paid in relation to the 8 Public Liability unlawful arrest civil claims that were settled within this financial period was £8,750.

It is not possible to provided a  breakdown of each claim by sum and the offence that an individual was unlawfully arrested for, as this may lead to the identification of the person making the claim.

 

Due to the different methods of recording information across 43 forces, a specific response from one constabulary should not be seen as an indication of what information could be supplied (within cost) by another.  Systems used for recording these figures are not generic, nor are the procedures used locally in capturing the data.  For this reason responses between forces may differ, and should not be used for comparative purposes. 

The information we have supplied to you is likely to contain intellectual property rights of Northumbria Police.  Your use of the information must be strictly in accordance with the Copyright Designs and Patents Act 1988 (as amended) or such other applicable legislation.  In particular, you must not re-use this information for any commercial purpose.

How to complain

If you are unhappy with our decision or do not consider that we have handled your request properly and we are unable to resolve this issue informally, you are entitled to make a formal complaint to us under our complaints procedure.

If you are still unhappy after we have investigated your complaint and reported to you the outcome, you may complain directly to the Information Commissioner’s Office and request that they investigate to ascertain whether we have dealt with your request in accordance with the Act.