Disclosure Details

Complaints - 1046/14

Dated: 16 Jan 2015

Date of request:      18/12/14

Date of response:    12/01/15

Provision of information held by Northumbria Police made under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (the 'Act')(FOIA)

Thank you for your email dated 18 December 2014 in which you made a request for access to certain information which may be held by Northumbria Police.

As you may be aware the purpose of the Act is to allow a general right of access to information held by a Public Authority (including the Police), subject to certain limitations and exemptions.

You asked: 

Over the following years: 2011, 2012, 2013 and Jan-Nov 2014 how many complaints have been made by police officers, civilian staff roles or volunteers within the force to the HR department or the Professional Standard’s Department/Officer about the following:
(Please list the number by each year)
a) An allegation of bullying by a member of staff against the individual reporting the complaints or another member of staff
b) An allegation of sexism/discrimination by a member of staff against the individual reporting the complaints or another member of staff
c) An allegation of racism by a member of staff against the individual reporting the complaints or another member of staff
d) A complaint made about a shortage in staff/staffing levels
e) A complaint made about  staff overwork/unpaid overtime

We have now had the opportunity to fully consider your request and I provide a response for your attention.

Following receipt of your request, searches were conducted with the HR and Professional Standards Departments of Northumbria Police. I can confirm that the information you have requested is held by Northumbria Police.

I am able to disclose the located information to you as follows.

The following information has been extracted from a ‘live’ database and may be subject to the addition and deletion of complaints, complainants and subjects after the initial extraction of data used for the purposes of this request.

Data has been checked for allegations recorded with subject attached between 01/01/2011 and 30/11/2014 for conduct matters involving Police Officers and Police Staff relating to allegations of bullying, sexism/discrimination and racism.  Please note that Special Constables are not included in the results.

2011
a) - 0
b) - 0
c) - 0

2012
a) - 2
b) - 3
c) - 1

2013
a) - 1
b) - 0
c) - 1

From January - November 2014
a) - 0
b) - 0
c) - 0

d) and e) No information held.  Neither PSD or HR hold any information at these points.

Due to the different methods of recording information across 43 forces, a specific response from one constabulary should not be seen as an indication of what information could be supplied (within cost) by another.  Systems used for recording these figures are not generic, nor are the procedures used locally in capturing the data.  For this reason responses between forces may differ, and should not be used for comparative purposes.

The information we have supplied to you is likely to contain intellectual property rights of Northumbria Police.  Your use of the information must be strictly in accordance with the Copyright Designs and Patents Act 1988 (as amended) or such other applicable legislation.  In particular, you must not re-use this information for any commercial purpose.


How to complain

If you are unhappy with our decision or do not consider that we have handled your request properly and we are unable to resolve this issue informally, you are entitled to make a formal complaint to us under our complaints procedure which can be found at: http://www.northumbria.police.uk/foi/disclosurelog/foicomprights.asp

If you are still unhappy after we have investigated your complaint and reported to you the outcome, you may complain directly to the Information Commissioner’s Office and request that they investigate to ascertain whether we have dealt with your request in accordance with the Act.

Downloads

FOI Complaint Rights Procedure_tcm4-67103